EAA Chapter 1078

Van Zandt County Texas- The Free State Chapter

Our Leadership Team

Meet our chapter's leadership team.



Ron Willke, President

Ron has been interesting in flying for over 60 years.  He flew in the United States Air Force and retired after 27 years of service.  After retiring, he worked as a Program Manager for both Citi Group and Northrop Grumman Corporation.  His flying experience ranges from light sport aircraft to military fighters having flown over 40 different aircraft.  Currently retired, he owns and flies an RV-6A, an MTO Sport Gyrocopter, and is building a Ran’s S-20 Raven.


EAASteve's RV

Steve Veach, Vice President

Steve  has been involved in aviation for most of his adult life.  He enlisted in the Marines at 17 and went on to become a Marine pilot. He is also a retired airline pilot having worked for Continental and US Airways.  He has flown commercially and is a flight instructor. He owns and flys a Vans RV-4 but is always looking for a good project.



Diana C. Smith, Secretary

Diana is an aviation enthusiast, a Civil Air Patrol AEM, an Elementary/Intermediate school teacher and a STEM coach for her school.  She loves all things science and aviation.  She is also her school's robotics coach helping develop the next generation of aviators and scientists.



Pete Krotje, Treasurer





Charlie Smith, Young Eagles Coordinator / Webmaster

Charlie is a scientist by day and an aviation enthusiast most other times.  He is a private pilot, EAA member and is the builder of a KIS Cruiser that's yearning for its maiden flight.

To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.