Chapter 252

Oshkosh, WI - The Steve Wittman Chapter

Spirit of Elo Award

A special once in a lifetime “Spirit of Elo” award was created by the chapter directors in honor of Munsil Williams. Munsil was our weekly genial host at his open house airstrip and hangar in Elo, Wisconsin (a suburb of Pickett).

For many years, Munsil and his late wife Shirley provided a very simple concept of having aviation people gather at what we fondly call “Elo International Airstrip” on Saturday mornings. No chairmen, no committees. Just gather. The coffee is on, the sweet rolls appear with the attendees. Spouses, kids, grandma, and friends simply arrive – some by plane, most by car. By 11:30 or so, most are gone. All carry some of the warmth of “the Spirit of Elo” away with them.

An annual Christmas party, often a fall corn roast, and other activities took place at Elo. Munsil was always there when he was needed. Munsil Williams passed away on November 22, 2017.

The following members of EAA Chapter 252 have been recognized with the "Spirit of Elo" award:

2004 - Munsil Williams
2005 - Norm Peterson
2006 - Gene Chase
2007 - Doc Mosher
2008 - Jim Casper
2009 - Audrey Poberezny
2010 - George Rotter
2011 - Bill Brennand
2012 - Paul Poberezny
2013 - John Monnett
2014 - Lon Nanke
2015 - Randy Novak
2016 - Fred Stadler 
2017 - Wayne Daniels 
2018 - Doug Milius
2019 - Charlie Becker 
2020 - Tracy Noack
2021 - Jay Puestohl
2022 - Dennis & Karen Moehn
2023 - Joe Norris

To provide a better user experience, EAA uses cookies. To review EAA's data privacy policy or adjust your privacy settings please visit: Data and Privacy Policy.