

EAA Chapter 122, Inc. Regular Meeting Minutes October 16, 2018 Hangar 2, Capital City Airport

President Mike Spangler called the meeting to order at 7:00 PM. He welcomed all present including our guest speaker, CarolAnn Garratt, and future new member Tom Johnston.

Members present and constituting a quorum: Wade Becker, Laurence Benander, Dan Cassidy, Ed Crouse, Don Fair, Paul Furst, Jim Haunstein, Steve/Linda Larson, Bob May, Mike Parks, Jeff Probasco, Mitch Reisinger, Herb/Nancy Rose, Mike Spangler, Jon Still, Jim Trygg, Paul Whippo, Philip Weaver, Ed Womer

Also present: Guest speaker, CarolAnn Garratt, and prospective new member Tom Johnston

Upon motion by Jon Still, appropriate second and vote, minutes of the chapter meeting of September 18,2018, were approved as submitted.

Upon motion by Mitch Reisinger, appropriate second and vote, the Treasurer's report for August 2018 was received and approved. Balance on hand at the end of September was \$9,601.89.

Committee reports:

Membership: Current membership is 43 individual members, 13 family members, and 3 honorary members. Total 59.

Programs:

Future meetings and events:

November 20th – Chapter elections. Wade Becker has arranged for one of AOPA's aviation lawyers to speak to us.

December 18th – Chapter Christmas party. Location will be <u>Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Company</u>, 4925 Ritter Road, in the Rossmoyne Business Park, off Route 11 South near the Turnpike entrance, Mechanicsburg. More details to follow.

Young Eagles... Jon Still thanked all who helped with the Young Eagles rally on September 29th. We flew 16 Young Eagles, 4 Eagles, and some chapter members. He has been working with Chapter 321 in Reading and Chapter 1041 in Gettysburg to plan one Young Eagles rally to be hosted annually by each chapter. That lessens the workload, shares resources, and ensures that the Young Eagle program is well-served in our area.

In order to ensure a slot for a future candidate for the Jerry Rosie EAA Air Academy Scholarship, Jon Still moved that we approve the use of our EAA Young Eagles credits to be applied towards the deposit required to hold a place for our selectee, should we have one. After an appropriate second and discussion, the motion was approved unanimously.

Jim Haunstein moved that we approve the funding for the tuition (only, not incidentals or transportation) for our 2019 Jerry Rosie EAA Air Academy Scholarship initiative, and give authorization to the board to proceed with seeking an appropriate candidate. Because of earned Young Eagles credits, the cost to the chapter is expected to be less than \$1,000. Following an appropriate second and discussion, the motion was approved unanimously.

Old Business:

Mike Spangler and Mitch Reisinger have been dealing with a number of web issues related to our EAAsponsored website. This will be one of the subjects pursued by our members who will be attending the EAA chapter leadership conference next week.

CXY Home space: Mike Spangler reported that a new furnace had been installed by Skyport Aviation to complement the air conditioning. Next up will be work to get some food preparation equipment installed.

Mike Parks reported that Project Tin Goose, the EAA initiative to replace the wings of their Tri-Motor, was continuing. Both individual members and all EAA chapters can expect a solicitation to give all an opportunity to participate in the effort to raise \$1 million dollars to replace the wings. More will follow once all of the support documentation is in place.

New Business:

As a "heads up," Mike Spangler wanted everyone to know that the Board is considering raising our chapter dues to better support some of our future programs.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, Jim Trygg presented the following related to the upcoming elections:

2018 November Election for 2019 chapter officers:

	Current Holder:	Term	Board's Nominee:
President	Mike Spangler	2 years	Jon Still
Vice President	Jon Still	1 year	Wade Becker
Treasurer	Jim Trygg	2 years	Mitch Reisinger
Secretary	Mike Parks	2 years	Ed Womer
Board	Paul Furst	2 years	Paul Furst
Board	Wade Becker	1 year	Jim Haunstein
Board	Mitch Reisinger	1 year	Bob May

This year, four two-year positions will be voted on. Three officer positions, President, Treasurer, Secretary, and one Board position. The three officers, Mike Spangler, Jim Trygg, and Mike Parks have completed their terms and are retiring. Paul Furst is finishing up his term on the board and has agreed to run again for that position.

This year's election will be a little complicated in that some of the nominations made by the Board will be tentative. Due to the potential for multiple candidates, the board reserves the right to selectively withdraw any of its nominations should its candidate not be elected.

Jon Still will run for President opening up his vacated Vice President position and Wade Becker will run for that position, opening up his vacated Board position. If Jon is not elected, due to a rival candidate, the Board will withdraw Jon's and Wade's nominations, Jon will remain in his present Vice President position and Wade will remain in his present Board position.

Similarly, Mitch Reisinger will run for Treasurer, opening up his vacated Board position. If Mitch is not elected the Board will withdraw his nomination and he will remain in his present board position.

This tentatively leaves two Board positions open, depending how the other elections play out. In any case, the Board has received nominations for these two Board positions: Jim Haunstein and Bob May.

Right now, we have a single candidate for each open position. However, the membership will have an opportunity to nominate others for any of these positions at our November meeting. Please consider offering your services to our Chapter. If there is more than one candidate for a position, a written secret ballot will be used for that election. Otherwise a show of hands will be used.

The Board's slate:

The Board hereby nominates Ed Womer for Secretary (2-year term) and Paul Furst for Director (two-year term).

The Board also nominates, subject to the conditions described above, Jon Still for President (two-year term), Wade Becker for VP (one-year term), Mitch Reisinger for Treasurer (two-year term), Jim Haunstein and Bob May for one-year terms on the Board of Directors.

Upon motion by Dan Cassidy, appropriate second and vote, the meeting was adjourned at 7:29 PM. Mitch Reisinger introduced CarolAnn Garratt who provided a fascinating presentation about world circumnavigation flights to raise awareness of and funds for ALS research. Members are encouraged to view further details at www.alsworldflight.com.

Next meeting: November 20, 2018, at Hangar 2, KCXY. Food at 6 PM; meeting at 7 PM.

Mike Parks Secretary